Welcome to Everyday Education, the exclusive source for the Excellence in Literature Complete Curriculum (all five years in a binder) and more. Happy browsing!

E4e- British Literature eBook Excellence in Literature - eBook
E4e- British Literature eBook Excellence in Literature - eBook

E4e- British Literature eBook Excellence in Literature

Regular price
Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

British Literature ebook (English 4e) is a one year, college-preparatory literature and composition course, and is the fourth volume of the Excellence in Literature curriculum.

Visit the print edition page for a full description.

Downloadable eBook: 190 pages


The 4th edition of the British Literature ebook contains the same text as the print edition of the book. British Literature is also known as English 4, and is the fourth volume of the Excellence in Literature curriculum. You can read a full description of the book and its contents at the print edition page, but here is a reading list of the books that will be studied at this level.

Reading List for Excellence in Literature's British Literature eBook

Module 1: Beowulf 

Honors: The Dream of the Rood and Caedmon’s Hymn or The Battle of Malden

Module 2: Canterbury Tales (selected) by Geoffrey Chaucer

Honors: Piers Plowman by William Langland

Module 3: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight and The Faerie Queene (Book 1) by Edmund Spenser and “Letters to Raleigh”

Honors: Le Morte d’Arthur by Thomas Malory

Module 4: King Lear by William Shakespeare

Honors: Hamlet by William Shakespeare

Module 5: Paradise Lost by John Milton

Honors: Faust by Christopher Marlowe OR Confessions by St. Augustine of Hippo

Module 6: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Honors: Persuasion or other novel by Jane Austen

Middlemarch by George Eliot

Module 7: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Honors: Oliver Twist or David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray

Module 8: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Honors: The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë or Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë (if you did not read it in English I) or Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Module 9: To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

Honors: Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis

Following the nine modules that outline readings and a week-by-week lesson plan for each of the classic works being studied, you will find reference resources, including instructions for evaluation, reproducible rubric and assignment sheets, and more.

You can see an annotated listing of each of the introductory and reference chapters at the "What is included in Excellence in Literature" post.

Visit my blog to read about how I chose the literature for Excellence in Literature. This link will open in a new tab, so you don't have to worry about losing your place here.